These are the ACIA 2015 winners

ACIA awards 2015

The annual ACIA 2015 award ceremony organized by Uganda Communications Commission (UCC) was aimed to award all Ugandan tech innovators at all levels. The colorful event was graced by the ED UCC, Mr Mutabazi Godfrey, ICT Ministry officials and ICT enthusiasts in Uganda. Speaking at the event, ITC Minister Hon. John Nasasira called upon the private sector to support innovation in Uganda and urged the youth in participating in innovative activities. He also announced that the Ministry has developed a five year ICT sector development plan that will include an innovation fund to help young Innovators. Ministry has also developed a database/ register for young Innovators. This the list of the ACIA 2015 winners.

Uganda ICT Visionsonaries

2nd runner-up : Dynamo,

Prize: cash $500

FROM OUR SPONSOR- Continue for more content

1st runner-up : Kiki

Prize: Seed funding $1,250 and cash $750

Winner: Vital mobi

Prize: Seed funding $2,500 and cash $1,500 and Trophy

Young rising stars

2nd runner-up : Arua public Secondary School

1st runner-up : Dr Obote College Lira

Prize for both above: Library Books

Winner:  St. Peters Secondary School Pallisa

Prize: Cash $1,000, HTC desire, laptop for each member and Trophy

Uganda ICT Explorer

2nd runner-up : Parental care PS Bushenyi

1st runner-up : Happy Hill Jr Academy from Masindi

Prize for both above: Library Books

Winner: Santa Lucia Secondary School

Prize:$ 1,000,  educational tablets, Trophy mifi router from Smile and UGX 400k from Vodafone

ICT for Development Award

1st runner-up: BreastIT

Prize : Implementation Grant $3,750,  cash $1,250 and Trophy

Winner : Airtel Weza

Prize : Implementation grant $7,500 cash $ 2,500


Digital content Award

1st runner-up: Yaka Digital

Prize : Implementation Grant $ 3,500, and cash $ 1250

Winner : PM live

Prize :Implementation grant $ 7,500 and $ 2,500 and Trophy

Business Excellence Award

Winner : eCite
Prize : Trophy

Judge’s choice award

Winner: Kiiki

Prize : MiFi router from smile telecom and a trophy

People’s choice Award

Winner: Dynamo Charger