Facebook has today introduced a new feature that enables temporary live location sharing inside your chatting Messenger app. The feature will let you track friends and family track your movements an hour at a time after sharing with them your location details. There is an option that allow you to share your location with a single person or with a group. According to Facebook in a blog post, they said that “People tell us that live location is super helpful when trying to coordinate with friends, telling people how close you are when you’re on your way to an appointment or even sharing where you are with your roommate when you’re on your way home at night,”
When the app was initially launched, the ability to share your location with friends came as default setting until 2015, when the company replaced replaced automatic sharing with a feature that let you send a single, static location on a map.
How it works
In order to use the live location, you’ll have to tap the location icon inside Messenger. When you share your location, your recipients will be able to see where you are on a map for an hour. Messenger will also show you an estimate of how long it would take you and your friend to get to one another’s location by car.
There is also a countdown clock that will show you how much longer your location will be shared by default. Just as expected you can opt not to share you location at all.