The ACIA 2016 Special Award winner will be voted for by the public

ACIA 2014 _ Acolades
The Acolades

[blockquote right=”pull-left”]
The Uganda Communications Commission’s (UCC) ACIA 2016 awards are around the corner and this year the commission unveiled a new category called the Special Award. This award, is aimed to recognise the Government of Uganda’s development efforts, especially in the promotion of e-Government, will be decided by a public vote.

This will be the first time ever in the history of ACIA, for such a “democratic vote” to determine which MDA offers the Best e-Government Service in Uganda. Twelve Government Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) submitted entries for this Award category in a bid to demonstrate their ICT prowess in offering e-government services to Ugandans.

The five-day voting exercise, which will be done electronically, will take place from April 25-29, 2016 on the ACIA website.  The winners will be announced during the ACIA 2016 Awards Gala night that will take place at Serena Conference Centre on May 20, 2016. Voters will decide on what they feel is the best MDA with regard to the use of ICT in providing government services to the public.

FROM OUR SPONSOR- Continue for more content

The 12 shortlisted MDAs are:

  1. Education Service Commission (ESC),
  2. Inspectorate of Government (IGG),
  3. Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Sports (MoESTS),
  4. Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development (MoEMD) and
  5. Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development (MoFPED).
  6. Ministry of Lands, Housing and Urban Development (MoLHUD),
  7. National Medical Stores (NMS),
  8. National Social Security Fund (NSSF),
  9. National Water and Sewerage Corporation (NWSC),
  10. Uganda Revenue Authority (URA)
  11. Uganda Wild Authority (UWA).

The other five award categories – Young Innovators, Business Excellence, Service Excellence, ICT for Development, and Digital Content – are usually determined by a panel of eminent and independent judges.

The ACIA Awards have been held annually to reward outstanding ICT innovations since their inception in October 2010. The event has become an important signature and calendar event in Uganda’s ICT sector with the support of various industry stakeholders. Winners have benefited from a pool of prizes that have enabled them acquire the resources, linkages and capacity to enhance their innovations. As a platform that provides exposure, participants have had a platform to showcase their innovations to diverse audiences.

Since 2010, UCC has been encouraging local ICT innovations and applications through ACIA.  Suffice to say, the Annual Communication Innovation Award   has now become a signature of Uganda’s innovation industry as steady growth has been achieved. Over the years, the event has become bigger, better and more competitive.  The ACIA 2016 Awards gala will be preceded by a one-day Exhibition held on the same day. Once again, here’s your chance to help improve e-Governance in Uganda